Skip to content

The RPRC layout: The Harbor is Dredged!

April 19, 2008

After months of my layout having been in disuse, covered with stuff, the positive comments I got on a british modeling forum, (With special thanks to “Shortliner”) I decided to dust off the layout and begin construction.

Here’s what I ended up laying down, which differs slightly from the original plans, but not by much.

The Harbor will occupy the middle of the layout and continue out the open end.

Without a hot-wire foam cutter, I was at a loss on how to approach how I was going to cut the foam for the harbor, until I went to the best hardware store on the planet, and returned with a small hacksaw.. I then began to cube up the foam so I could snap it off and create a relatively flat harbor.

 

Still hacking away with the hacksaw.. the pile of rough blue cubes grows, the surface is coming out rougher than I want it to, so I go back with a rough file and try to smooth things out.

The Harbor is 90% carved out, only a strip on the far end of the harbor needs to be widened. I’ve already begun to file the surface of the seabed. The Blue and Green utensils are plaster spatulas, for our next step…

Adding scruptamold and Hydrocal!  Using photographic aerial reference from windows live local, I plant the abandoned pier pilings EXACTLY where they are in the harbor. This took a while as you can imagine.

After the Hyrdocal and Sculptamold dried for a day, I went over it with some paint that matches the seafloor from the aerial photographs, it obviously looks too monotone, so I decided to blend it realistically.

Using some navyblue and black paint. There. I also painted the pierpilings dark brown to match the old wood.

All this work was done between April 16th and April 17th 2008, so it’s very recent work. Stay tuned for the next step in this journey into prototype modeling.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ian permalink
    April 19, 2008 4:28 am

    I hope we get to see some awesome naval action in this harbor when complete!

  2. April 19, 2008 4:42 am

    Would you expect any less than action packed Crane Barge and Tugboat operations?

  3. Ian permalink
    April 19, 2008 6:36 am

    Haha, go even further, add a huge out of proportion cruise ship…crashing into the shore causing mayhem. Oh wait…thats the plot of Speed 2

  4. April 19, 2008 6:56 am

    I think buying all those little N scale figures, dead and alive in that case would be cost-prohibitive. Trying to build the cruise ship would be a trevail in itself. Of course I’m kidding.

    I think that would be the entire script of Speed 2 in addition to it being the synopsis, outside of some “Oh No!” and “Run” and the guy at the end who’s last words are, as he lays on the dock, hit by the ship.. “I die on screen, and I live to see another day in reality, you’ve killed 2 and a half hours of your Reality that won’t.”

Leave a Reply

