Skip to content

Some of My Favorite Weathering Projects

June 3, 2008

For the past year, I’ve been weathering cars, buildings, and locomotives for clients the world over. I’ve completed more than 250 cars for plenty of clients, but these are some of my favorite projects.

If you’d like something weathered, don’t hesitate to contact me via my company (The Weathering Man, my custom model building business) e-mail the@weatheringman.com(removethistoe-mailme)    

Let’s start!

By far my favorite project, and my company mascot, this gritty looking C&O 4-8-2 really looks amazing in person.

First “patch job” I ever did, on the TFM (FDGA) hopper.

 

Favorite modern structure, aheavy kitbash of an ADM grain elevator kit, weathered.

Only S scale car I ever did, didn’t make 1 cent profit from it, sold it for what I paid for the model, what a gyp. I never plan to sell another weathered S scale car again, although I might consider a comissioned project in S scale, as it’s the PERFECT scale.

Obviously a VERY badly weathered car, but I enjoyed making it. It was significant in the fact that it is one of the few cars I used the sophisticated finishes rust product on it, and the first attempt at prototype modeling, with the blanked out windows, among other details I added after this photo was taken.

This is my favorite G scale project to date, I added a ton of wood grain detail to this car, and weathered it really nicely, if I do say so myself.

My favorite diesel project to date, the subtle weathering was a real step towards realism. It still needs a couple of details to be a perfect match for TS 746, but the odd lettering spacing is dead-on for this locomotive.

This was one of my first cars, and was one of my favorites for a while.

First experimental dent pattern.

My absolute favorite graffiti project.

 

This was my highest selling car to date, $85.00 until the car below sold for $90.00. Although looking back this car was far from perfect, it did prove to me that this industry was willing to pay for a person’s effort.  

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2009 5:20 pm

    4-8-2 543 on the top of this page. How did you get the effect on the boiler? I would like to get the same effect for some modern tank cars. Thanks.

  2. February 26, 2011 2:13 am

    Nice work, too bad about the BN caboosee. Other car look real nice.

Leave a Reply

