Skip to content

Railroad Renaissance: The Southern Ry. Rolls Again!

July 19, 2008

Known to many online forums, Andrew’s work is professional, very believable, and visually spectacular. The Modern Southern Railway lives on, if only in HO scale. Loosely related to the Rebuilt ROCK ISLAND and NEW YORK CENTRAL that were featured earlier in this ongoing series on modern “what if” railroads, the Southern has captured the imaginations of legions of modelers the world over for it’s plausible realism brought forth through excellent, skillful modeling. Cruising at track speed, his powerful tuxedo-adorned SD70’s glide across the mainline with stylish ease.

SR SD70

In interviewed Andrew to see why he decided to bring the prestigious SR into the Modern Era.

Was it you who came up with the idea for resurrecting the Southern Railway?
Yes and no. I am not the first person to take a fallen flag and re-establish it. In fact the whole reason I model Southern this way, is because of the modern day NYCS. I would venture out and say that I am the first person to seriously paint my equipment for Southern, as a modern day railroad would.

-Why the Southern Railway?
When I first started getting into the hobby seriously a couple years back, I would just look around at locomotives all the unique features. The high hoods caught my eye, and my love for Southern Railway was born. I can’t really say why, but low nosed locomotives seemed boring at the time and still do to some degree.

SR Sd70 bridge

-Do you plan to keep it up-to-date, like Eric B’s UTAH BELT?
Absolutely. I resurrected Southern Railway so that I could run my favorite railroad, and my favorite equipment. As time progresses (in both worlds), Southern Railway will have to keep up with competition, and keep buying updated motive power.

SR GE

-How did you develop your paint scheme? It’s striking.
When I first started painting locomotives for Southern, I had a couple paint schemes floating around in my head. I finally settled on the good ol’ tuxedo itself. So I didn’t develop anything, I just resurrected it.

Taking a curve

-Do you believe that you have more or less freedom as a proto-freelancer?
defanently more freedom. With me being the boss, I can more or less do whatever I want. I can run whatever locomotives I want. I don’t have to have/not have the same locomotives as the prototype. The same goes for freight cars, and just about everything else.

Track Speed

-How do you plan to incorporate the previous (actual) history into your alternate scale modeled world?
The slogan “Southern gives a green light to innovation” is still found on boxcars today. I believe to have a successful company you have to have ideas coming from more than one source. With ideas coming from all over the board, the company will be a better company all around.

-What clues of the past from the (actual) company exist on your layout that hint or solidify the new alternate reality of this great company?
Safety. With all the crossing accidents that happen keeping everyone safe is a big issue that needs to be addressed.

Great Plains

-What trends are you seeing in the real roads that you plan to incorporate into your Southern Railway?
The main thing would be intermodal. Intermodal is a big part of today’s railroading and I want it to be the same for southern. Long trains of nothing but intermodal, is what I envision for the future.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Tony permalink
    July 19, 2008 1:39 pm

    Does Andrew have a website?

  2. July 19, 2008 2:21 pm

    Nicely done. Those SD70s look sharp!

  3. John Walker permalink
    August 15, 2008 12:41 pm

    How far west did Southern run thru TX? I would like to model SR, but I also want to set my scenery in the westen half of central Tx.
    Thanks

  4. August 15, 2008 10:18 pm

    I don’t believe it ever made it to Texas, as the farthest west it made was St. Louis, Memphis and New Orleans. You could model the T&P, KCS, MKT, SP, MP, or others.

  5. Alok permalink
    December 10, 2009 11:43 pm

    Awesome! I wish I could see SR widecabs in the tuxedo paint scheme instead of seeing them NS widecabs in the thoroughbred scheme. And I am talking about the real thing!

  6. Chris Smith permalink
    July 18, 2010 9:50 pm

    Great job!! Was thinking about doing the same thing on my N-Scale all Southern layout, just to shake up the rivet counters.

Leave a Reply

