Skip to content

Full Side Freight Car Graffiti in HO

October 25, 2009

If you’re interested in having one of these cars painted for you, please visit www.weatheringman.com  

This is definately a trademark of my weathering business, and one I’m very proud to work on. Real cars like this are surprisingly prevalent in the modern scene, and each is a real astounding study in color and detail. So, let’s take a look at some graffiti.

Each of these takes more than a dozen hours of really careful detail painting and variety of specialized materials and techniques to capture the graffiti in HO scale. Some people try to do these cars using decals, but I believe it’s more engaging to paint them yourself. As far as I know, I’m one of the very few who take this route in HO or N scale.

Full Car Freight Train Graffiti.

atom age freight car

It all started a few years ago with this test car, the Atom(ic) Age boxcar (the “IC” obscured by a replaced door) and caught the interest of a couple of clients of mine, who over the next couple of years would comission me to build the rest of the cars you’ll see here.

Freight Car Graffiti in HO scale

After a few smaller graffiti pieces, I was comissioned to do the quartet of cars you see above, each stylistically different from each other. Each one was painted using really tiny brushes following prototype photographs, each an exact copy.

Muse freight car graffiti

Some, like the three you see here, are based off caligraphy.

Graffiti Calligraphy

The one below was one of my favorite projects, it was my first comissioned full car graffiti, and its challenge is something I still relish today when I’m working on my latest car, perhaps to be featured soon.

BNSF freight train graffiti

Even if you don’t like the graffiti, the attention to detail is still fascinating, at least to me.

What do you think of these cars?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Are2 permalink
    December 4, 2009 4:41 pm

    That’s some pretty nice work. I did the Are2 wholecar. Sometimes I’ve painted HO’s too, as do other graffiti writers.
    Are2
    if you search flickr for HO scale graffiti you’ll see more.

  2. December 28, 2009 11:11 pm

    …interesting.

Leave a Reply

