Skip to content

Restoring Model Buildings- My 1920’s Tidewater Flying “A” Gas Station

March 30, 2010

in the last two years I’ve scratchbuilt a number of buildings, some of them were more learning tools than actually intended for display on a layout. However there have been a couple that stood out as favorites, but as my modeling skills increased, they looked sub-par next to the contemporary models I was making. In addition a recent move helped to further damage and destroy the poor structure, so it was time for a rebuild before it was lost to the parts box.
1920's gas station in HO

This structure was based off of plans I drew over a year ago. The above photo is how it looked just after it was built 10 months ago.

The first step was rebuilding the overhanging roof and making sure the gas pump island looked right. I added black stripes to both posts for period-appropriate visibility. I also added the red eve trim, something I’d meant to add, but never got around to the first time I built it. I also repainted the entire roof to a more realistic sun-faded gray and painted the tarpaper roof patch green as another period detail and sunfaded that. I added the thin layer of tar around the edges of the sheets with a fine-tipped sharpie, which nicely mimics the oily look of tar anyhow.
1920s Gas Station in HO

I’ve still yet to add the “Flying A” logos in appropriate places, but that will come soon enough along with other details once the building is “planted” on the layout.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 20, 2010 2:53 pm

    Hello! I just stumbled across your website when I was researching images of a 1920’s gas station. I am a miniature collector of 1:12/1:24 & 1:144 scale and also am working on a very large dollhouse layout of 1:12. In between working on the dollhouse, I do various other room boxes and structures. I absolutely love your gas station and would very much appreciate your permission to use your plans. I also noticed that the plans are based in ‘real life’ and was interested to know what scale you built yours in. Thanks so much and your website is wonderful – even coming from a non-railroader! Cheers! -Kim.

Leave a Reply

