Skip to content

Goodbye, Yosemite Valley version 1….

January 16, 2011
by

It’s been several (more than several) months since any update on my Yosemite Valley Railroad project. By this time, I’m sure you expected me to have the yard at Merced all the way in, probably have turned around the corner to the Portland Cement Company, and be well on my way through Snelling to Merced Falls and the lumber mill trackage and box factory track there with an eye on getting through Merced Falls for the X2011 convention.

That’s what we all expected.

In reality, model railroading is not something that is performed completely outside the reality of life, including the reality of family and economics.

It is with great sadness that I report that in December, the yard at Merced, and the SP Interchange at Merced were demolished. Turnouts were saved, DCC was saved, turnout motors and a few sections of commercial benchwork sections were saved, but that is it. The rest of the layout met the dumpster and was hauled away.

In March of 2011, my family and I will load a U-Haul truck and leave California for Minneapolis, MN. Housing economics (which I won’t get into) are forcing us out of California along with other factors that also don’t belong here. We’ll be moving into a rental house, with unknown layout space.

Yosemite Valley no-more? Not on your life!

My plan at the moment is to step back and concentrate on the roster. With 5 of the 7 locomotives the YV owned and operated (with an 8th necessary for storage at Merced Falls), and 67% of my projected rolling stock necessary to operate owned but not built, and with plans for buildings but no buildings, I intend to move forward with building up the rolling stock, getting structures built, and laying-up in storage DCC equipment, track, roadbed, and all the materials necessary to eventually build the YV as I think it should be built, as I intend to build it, and as I one day will build it. I even have developed a plan for a “layout raising” to get things off the ground with a bang at the time when it’s right to build this layout.

In the mean time, I’m looking at some other options. I may dabble in some modern equipment in a small way, intending to have some trains to run while we’re settling in and getting plans for a new Yosemite Valley put together.

I’ll be back to posting after my move in March.

Highball!
-JD

P.S. As I see that Miles is tearing down and rebuilding, this should be interesting as we both get new plans and new projects going in 2011.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Brian permalink
    January 16, 2011 5:27 pm

    Building structures and other time-consuming objects while waiting for a stable layout space makes a great deal of sense. However, for things that just require purchasing (DCC equipment, track, roadbed, etc.) why not just store the money you’d put into those in a dedicated account and do one bulk purchase later? That way, when you are ready to build again, you can take advantage of whatever developments have been made while you have been waiting — advances in DCC, more detailed track, etc. Plus, cash in the bank accrues more interest than do boxes of supplies.

  2. daddooo permalink
    January 17, 2011 8:51 pm

    Hi Brian,

    I mentioned my “plan”, but probably should have structured it better. Should I get to the point where my projected rolling stock is all in-house, and the major structures are as well, then I’d buy track, starting with flex track bundles, and turnout motors because I know which ones of those I want to use. At some point I’ll stockpile either cash or physical turnouts (depending on what’s on the market at the time) and when I’m closer to my projected move to a permanent layout site, an updated DCC system will go along so that at the soonest possible time I can resume work on the YV.

Leave a Reply

