Skip to content

The Inland Terminal Railway’s VO1000

January 23, 2011

The reporting marks ITR were surprisingly unused in the AAR reporting mark registry, so with that confidence I decided to found the Inland Terminal Railway, a smaller railroad than my ill-fated Mission Valley & Pacific. This will be the railroad I’ll use on my new set of FREE-MO Modules, the details of which will be discussed in future articles.

As many modelers know, we often need inspiration to guide us with projects and after making some money selling off a good chunk of my roster of Locomotives on Ebay (Seller the_weathering_man for the curious.) I decided to focus on Quality versus Quantity in this next endeavor. I also wanted to minimize the amount of time spent on my own models so I have more time to work on projects for clients. I managed to snag a beautiful and excellent running Baldwin VO1000 with sound from Bowser/Stewart at a recent train show, and right then decided that THIS would be the Inland Terminal’s major piece of motive power.
Baldwin VO1000 Bowser HO Stewart

I’d already come up with the color scheme for an earlier unnamed operation for my large freight terminal module built years ago. I uses Rustoleum “American Accents” Squash Yellow spraypaint, Tamiya German Gray and Floquil Reefer Orange mixed with some burnt orange craft paint. The Radius curve for the orange was cut from blue painters tape, utilizing the curve found on the top of a craft paint bottle. It looks delightfully industrial and 1940’s, exactly what I was after. I took a bit of inspiration from the Dardanele & Russelville’s paint scheme and modified it to my liking. The lettering is N scale “Western Pacific Diesels” from Microscale, the “ITR” taken from the WP. Mostly because I had the decal set lying around, but also because it’s an elegant railroad gothic typeface.

If Successful in operation this first VO1000 may be joined by a second Baldwin so that the clatter of a Baldwin prime mover can echo off the commercial buildings on my Free-Mo Modules. Right now the original power, an SW1 that is sans DCC or sound is used as standby power.
Inland Terminal Railway SW1

The unit was lightly weathered to portray a well-maintained and mostly new locomotive. There are some heat-caused rust spots atop the prime mover’s hood and soot streaks across the roof from long nights shoving cuts of cars around and idling. I plan to add a brakeman fore and aft to make street running more realistic.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Karl permalink
    January 31, 2011 6:02 pm

    That’s a really sharp looking paint scheme, looks great for the period!

  2. January 31, 2011 7:32 pm

    Thank you Karl! I’m so glad it’s believably period to others as well. It’s the product of many years of prototype research and careful selection of colors. I actually researched what colors were popular in the era and based it off of that. I was lucky to find such a nice yellow to use as my base color and the temperature of both colors are warm versus cool. Plus, that yellow weathered great, didn’t it?

Leave a Reply

